Home Election hubNPP Jan. 27: 326 Cleared To Contest NPP Parliamentary Primaries

Jan. 27: 326 Cleared To Contest NPP Parliamentary Primaries

by Vesta Daily
0 comment 28 views
Jan. 27: 326 Cleared To Contest NPP Parliamentary Primaries

Jan. 27: 326 Cleared To Contest NPP Parliamentary Primaries

Vesta Daily – Accra: In the seats where the party currently has Members of Parliament (MPs), the New Patriotic Party (NPP) has certified 326 candidates for the January 27, 2024, primary.

After vetting, 326 qualified candidates for the primaries remained out of the total of 373 aspirants who filed to compete. Of those, 29 are running unopposed, 11 were disqualified, two were referred to the National Executive Committee (NEC), two resigned, one incomplete form, and two did not show up for vetting.


Those who are going unopposed are the MP for Ayawaso West Wuogon and First Deputy Majority Chief Whip, Lydia Seyram Alhassan; MP for Okaikoi Central, Patrick Yaw Boamah; MP for Damongo and Minister of Lands and Natural Resources, Samuel Abu Jinapor; MP for Lambussie, Dr Bright Yelviedong Baligi; MP for Nandom and Minister for the Interior, Ambrose Dery; MP for Assin South and Deputy Minister of Education, Rev. John Ntim Fordjour, and MP for Upper Denkyira East, Dr Festus Awuah Kwofie.

The others are MP for Bosomtwe and Minister of Education, Dr Yaw Osei Adutwum; MP for Abetifi and Minister of Food and Agriculture, Dr Bryan Yaw Acheampong; MP for New Juaben South and Deputy Minister of Trade and Industry, Michael Okyere Baafi; MP for Upper West Akyem and a Deputy Minister of Transport, Frederick Obeng Adom; MP for Ejisu and a Deputy Minister of Finance, Dr John Ampontuah Kumah; MP for Effiduasi, Dr Nana Ayew Afriyie; MP for Offinso South, Isaac Yaw Opoku; MP for Akrofuom, Alex Blankson; MP for Tano South, Dr Benjamin Yeboah Sekyere; MP for Dormaa East, Paul Apreku Twum-Barimah and MP for Sefwi Akontombra, Alex Tetteh Djornobuah.

The rest are MP for Tolon and Second Deputy Majority Chief Whip, Alhaji Iddrisu Habib; MP for Karaga and Deputy Minister of State at the Ministry of Finance, Mohammed Amin Adam; MP for Gushegu and Deputy Minister of Transport, Alhassan Sulemana Tampuli; MP for Tatale/Sanguli and Deputy Minister of Roads and Highways, Thomas Mbomba; MP for Techiman South and Deputy Minister of Local Government, Decentralisation and Rural Development, Martin Kwaku Adjei-Mensah Korsah.

Committee of appeals

A National Parliamentary Appeals Committee (NPAC) to hear appeals from disqualified parliamentary candidates will convene from today to Friday, (if any), according to a previous statement signed and issued by Justin Kodua Frimpong, the General Secretary of the NPP. The deadline for submitting appeals to the NPAC was yesterday.

Vesta Daily
Author: Vesta Daily

You may also like

Leave a Comment

Vesta Daily is a world-class authentic media outlet, that aims at bringing credible and relevant news in Sports. Politics, Business, Economy, Showbiz, Sex & Relationship, Lifestyle and many more

© Copyright 2024 Vesta Daily. All rights reserved powered by vestamultimedia.com

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy
Are you sure want to unlock this post?
Unlock left : 0
Are you sure want to cancel subscription?
Update Required Flash plugin

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.
Verified by MonsterInsights